Custom Search
 
home
indexes
features
classifieds
calendar
archives
about
links
Get free
Duckworks
newsletter
CLICK HERE

Mike's
Boat
Indexes

Issues:

2013

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

Advertise
on this site
Cover Story:

The Case for Poly Laminate Sails

A sail alternative.

Friday, December 19, 2014

Paddling with a Two by Four
Since my earliest kayaking days I have been fascinated by the historic roots of kayaks and their use by Inuit and Aleut people.

Thursday, December 18, 2014

The Eastern Washington Moveable Messabout
The Eastern Washington Moveable Messabout, held Sept 10-16 of 2014, began in western Idaho and continued through several eastern Washington locations.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

The Case for Poly Laminate Sails
I first became a sailmaker in the spring of 1994.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

New Kayaks and New Boats
Instead of pictures here are a couple of youtube videos of some of my new kayaks.

Monday, December 15, 2014

  • January Treasure Chest

  • Monday, December 15, 2014

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Monday, December 15, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 12, 2014

    Bad Timing
    An attempted rowing trip in a Herreshoff rowboat (alias “Swift Dory”) from Dangar Island to Brooklyn on the Hawkesbury River near Sydney.

    Thursday, December 11, 2014

    There's Another Way
    Cruising grounds are everywhere if you change your image of 'cruising' just a bit.

    Wednesday, December 10, 2014

    Raid Findland, 2014 - Part Two
    The next day, after an extensive breakfast, we made our packed lunches from the assortment of bread, cheese, meat and fruit, provided.

    Tuesday, December 9, 2014

    Raid Findland, 2014 - Part One
    One of the benefits of being semi-retired is the ability to jump at opportunities, work and leisure, as they present themselves.

    Monday, December 8, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 5, 2014

    PolyEasyB
    I had this daydream that on a pleasant Saturday I could pick up my boat and rest it on one shoulder.

    Thursday, December 4, 2014

    St. Ayles Skiff
    At the Woodenboat show in 2013 I was out rowing the whaleboat minding my own business when this apparition drifted out of the fog.

    Wednesday, December 3, 2014

    Holy Toledo
    Our man, Willie, says it best. "Onnnnnn the rooooaddddd again." We saddled up on Wednesday morning, and headed south.

    Tuesday, December 2, 2014

    Little Tri
    A demountable open trimaran.

    Monday, December 1, 2014

    Dave's Foam Kayak
    There's almost nothing as fun as working with foam, it's so easy to cut and shape and sand.

    Monday, December 1, 2014

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Monday, December 1, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 28, 2014

  • December Letters

  • Thursday, November 27, 2014

    LOTS of 'Just Messin' About' - Part Two
    Saturday saw more folks arrive and the whole day was spent “just messin' about”.

    Wednesday, November 26, 2014

    LOTS of 'Just Messin' About' - Part One
    The title pretty much sums it up.  There was no one moment that grabbed everyone's attention ... just one fun encounter after another.

    Tuesday, November 25, 2014

  • December Splash

  • Monday, November 24, 2014

    Thanks, Dave
    I towed my peripatetic pocket cruiser, Lady Bug, half way across the continent from San Diego to the original starting line in Port Mansfield, Texas.

    Monday, November 24, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 21, 2014

    How to Tie a Ratcheting Truckerís Hitch
    Here is a way to tie a ratcheting trucker's hitch.

    Thursday, November 20, 2014

  • December Reports

  • Wednesday, November 19, 2014

    Making the Lightest, Easiest Boat!
    We wished to make something similarly big at first, but after taking into account the time we had, we finally decided to make the simplest and the lightest rowboat.

    Tuesday, November 18, 2014

    DOODLING FAME: John Alden and His Schooners
    Did you ever doodle? Well, the famous schooner designer John Alden started out that way, as a kid.

    Monday, November 17, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Monday, November 17, 2014

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Friday, November 14, 2014

  • December Treasure Chest

  • Thursday, November 13, 2014

    Lots of New Boats
    Washington Dan who knows exactly what he wants and has to make it himself because no one else in their right mind would.

    Wednesday, November 12, 2014

    Kokopelli Cruise 2014
    For many years, Jim Thayer's report of the annual "Kokopelli" cruise was a recurring feature in MAIB.

    Tuesday, November 11, 2014

    Lake Powell "The Windy Koko"
    Chuck Leinweber invited me to join a group of folks at Lake Powell in June.

    Monday, November 10, 2014

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 7, 2014

    Going Off Plan – Part Two
    Last part of this article I told you all of my fine theories. Well, let's see how these ideas shaped up in practice.

    Thursday, November 6, 2014

    CNC Routing Adventures
    While stumbling around the deep dark Internet, I stumbled over CNC Routing.

    Wednesday, November 5, 2014

    Sailing Lessons - Texas 200 Style - Part Two
    So what next? Well, the Texas 200 sounded like the next step in upping-the-anty.

    Tuesday, November 4, 2014

    Sailing Lessons - Texas 200 Style - Part One
    At the exact time the words "You're not gonna make it" were emitting from the VHF's speaker, Scout's bow was sliding up hard onto a mud bank at a solid 4 knots.

     


       boat plans
       canoe/kayak
       electrical
       epoxy/supplies
       fasteners
       gear
       gift certificates
       hardware
       hatches/deckplates
       media
       paint/varnish
       rope/line
       rowing/sculling
       sailmaking
       sails
       tools