Custom Search
 
home
indexes
features
classifieds
calendar
archives
about
links
Get free
Duckworks
newsletter
CLICK HERE

Mike's
Boat
Indexes

Issues:

2013

January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

Advertise
on this site
Cover Story:

A Lightweight Jon Boat

A little foam, a little goo…

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Boating Tragedy
Kevin didn't send me float plan for his duck hunting trip so I had no idea where he was going or when he expected to be back.

Monday, February 8, 2016

Fast Commuters
It looks like there are some of us who are tired of roughing it and want to go boating in style and comfort.

Monday, February 8, 2016

Monday Blog Roundup
Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

Friday, February 5, 2016

One Cute OSS
This boat building stuff is crazy. Your brain jumps ahead to another possible boat when you are half way on your current project.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Experiments in Foam Boats - Part One
Way back around '85 my parents built their home by the old ice pond. The foundation had 2" foam insulation panels around the outside of it.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Kathleen, The Second Chapter - Part 2
Nothing like the sound of a Sawzall biting into rotted plywood to make the ol’ heart skip a beat, eh?

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

A Lightweight Jon Boat
But I had no idea if I would enjoy using a powerboat. I had never owned one, or even driven one.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Love Me Tenders
She is the best little boat to tow in fair weather or foul I have ever seen.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Jim Michalak's Newsletter
We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

Monday, February 1, 2016

Monday Blog Roundup
Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

Friday, January 29, 2016

  • February Letters

  • Thursday, January 28, 2016

    Dec 2015
    We had scheduled our lighted boat parade for last Saturday and we succeeded in having some real highs and way down lows.

    Wednesday, January 27, 2016

    Kathleen, The Second Chapter - Part 1
    OK. The gloves are coming off. It’s time to start getting serious.

    Tuesday, January 26, 2016

    Beachcruising by Magic Carpet
    My small vessel is the magic carpet which gives me access all of this, and more.

    Monday, January 25, 2016

  • January Splash

  • Monday, January 25, 2016

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, January 22, 2016

    Inaugural Mississippi Barrier Island Sail - Part Two
    As typical, I do not sleep soundly.  Hard surfaces does painful things to my hips and back.

    Thursday, January 21, 2016

    Inaugural Mississippi Barrier Island Sail - Part One
    Got a later start than expected but wasn’t worried … it was only a 4 hour drive.

    Wednesday, January 20, 2016

  • February Reports

  • Tuesday, January 19, 2016

    Fun with DuckyPoxy
    You're probably already aware of this, but Chuck Leinweber over at Duckworks has a new epoxy product that's generated quite a buzz.

    Monday, January 18, 2016

    Was This the First American Hydroplane?
    The photographs clearly show that this boat got up on the steps, planed with very little change of trim and generally acted as a well behaved hydro should.

    Monday, January 18, 2016

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, January 15, 2016

  • February Treasure Chest

  • Friday, January 15, 2016

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Thursday, January 14, 2016

    Boats Never Seen
    Here's the same boat with a trained monkey up the mast; actually I think it's Brian's boss up there.

    Wednesday, January 13, 2016

    A Life Full of Hobbies by Percy Blandford
    Way too often, we forget those who preceded us in whatever endeavor we engage in.

    Tuesday, January 12, 2016

    Ten Foot Yacht
    My apologies for writing so little but the boat building has turned into a full time job - (read obsession).

    Monday, January 11, 2016

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, January 8, 2016

    The 2015 Mississippi-110 - Part Two
    Steve and Dave left early bound for Cat Island. Murray's left to work his way back east along Horn Island. Pilgrim was going to go to Ship Islands.

    Thursday, January 7, 2016

    The 2015 Mississippi-110 - Part One
    Although we were together with others most of the nights and some of the days, all the participants had vastly different experiences, routes and anchorages for parts of the event.

    Wednesday, January 6, 2016

    The Lumberyard Villain
    I went to get some plywood for a dingy. But I knew I couldn't get an 8x4' sheet of plywood up my apartment stairs without borrowing Chuck's family helicopter.

    Tuesday, January 5, 2016

    Getting the Right Boat
    I remember years ago when I was in my 20’s (okay, decades ago) reading a new book by a guy named Larry Brown. The book was called “Sailing On A Micro Budget”.

    Monday, January 4, 2016

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, January 1, 2016

    Cartop Carrier Boat Two
    This is the Sears cartop carrier being transformed into a worthy sailboat.

    Friday, January 1, 2016

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Thursday, December 31, 2015

  • January Letters

  • Wednesday, December 30, 2015

    The Electric Slide
    I was enthralled by Roy Schreyer's houseboat Dianne's Rose and when checking his website, I found his beautiful tender THORN.

    Tuesday, December 29, 2015

    Camp Cruising in a Sailing Canoe
    Starting in the 1880s, the use of a decked sailing canoe for camp cruising became popular.

    Monday, December 28, 2015

    A Sea Story
    As Dickens said much more famously, "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times." And it was.

    Monday, December 28, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 25, 2015

  • January Splash

  • Thursday, December 24, 2015

    The Blue Canoe
    Circumstance is sometimes the mother of invention. Necessity seems a little strong. I didn’t really need another boat.

    Wednesday, December 23, 2015

    Letters To Which We Are Privy
    It really is hard to put into words how we feel about the things we build; it's a feeling that we have to create something all our own.

    Tuesday, December 22, 2015

    Connecting the Dot
    Some of my favorite boat trip stories take place down a road like this.

    Monday, December 21, 2015

  • January Reports

  • Monday, December 21, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 18, 2015

    Lurlyne, Big Sails and Windjammer
    We really have been doing things out in the shop for the last couple of months but not a whole lot.

    Thursday, December 17, 2015

    A Mirror Between Us
    I first learned to sail back in the late 60’s/early 70’s when the Mirror Dinghy was at its height in growth and popularity.

    Wednesday, December 16, 2015

    Bark Lake Messabout 2015
    Back in February, when it was cold and miserable in the Great White North, we were all reading the writings of Tom Pamperin - Georgian Bay adventures in the sunny summer weather.

    Tuesday, December 15, 2015

  • January Treasure Chest

  • Tuesday, December 15, 2015

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Monday, December 14, 2015

    Scouser 27 - Part Two
    I designed the boat with square sections which will create a fair bit of lift but shouldn't present a problem in the moderate speed ranges for which Scouser is intended.

    Monday, December 14, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 11, 2015

    Little Tri on the Dutch Waddensea
    When I was younger I used to do solo coastal sailing on the Dutch Waddensea with all kinds of smallish sailboats ranging from a Norwegian Folkboat to a Windrider 16.

    Thursday, December 10, 2015

    Lake Jocassee Overnight
    In July my family camped at Devil’s Fork State Park on Lake Jocasee in South Carolina.

    Wednesday, December 9, 2015

    Sail Camping on the Nancy Blackett
    The big day for camp cruising finally arrived.

    Tuesday, December 8, 2015

    The Michalak Lady Bug: Nancy Blackett
    At twelve, she has already owned three sailboats, an Optimist, a Sunfish and a Cape Dory 10.

    Monday, December 7, 2015

    Scouser 27 - Part One
    The search goes on for a boat that seems worth the effort and considerable cost of building.

    Monday, December 7, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, December 4, 2015

    How to Create a 3D model from an Old Paper Plan - Two
    We are going to look in detail at the fairing method we use with Rhino3D.

    Thursday, December 3, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part Six
    I approached the Puddle Duck, this box of a boat, with doubt garnished with excitement.

    Wednesday, December 2, 2015

    How to Create a 3D model from an Old Paper Plan - One
    In this file, we will take it one step further and explain how to loft the lines of one of those old plans, in 3D, on the computer.

    Tuesday, December 1, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part Five
    I have mentioned in passing some unknown, headstrong quality of my Puddle Duck.

    Tuesday, December 1, 2015

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Monday, November 30, 2015

  • December Letters

  • Monday, November 30, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 27, 2015

    Sea Trials Report for Cartop Carrier Sailboat
    But the boat needs slightly more development, so the pics show that, and are not of a competent vessel. Will keep at it. But, Hey, it floats!

    Thursday, November 26, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part Four
    I have come to expect much more from my body than history would justify.

    Wednesday, November 25, 2015

  • December Splash

  • Tuesday, November 24, 2015

    Bandit Takes on the Florida 120 - Part Two
    Day three dawned with rather ominous looking thunderheads building on the horizon.

    Monday, November 23, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part Three
    Different images of adventure thrive in their various shades (just a metaphor; I found no shade in Texas).

    Monday, November 23, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 20, 2015

  • November Reports
  • Thursday, November 19, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part Two
    The last night on land, again no sleep, and soon 5 AM arrives with a morning spiced with Andy's colorful attempts to make us shove off by 6 AM.

    Wednesday, November 18, 2015

    Bandit Takes on the Florida 120 - Part One
    Way back in March 2015, I had a goal.  Sail the Everglades Challenge solo.

    Tuesday, November 17, 2015

    Enlarged Life - Part One
    It is my vacation and I arise to the alarm clock in my tent. Can't get worse?

    Monday, November 16, 2015

  • December Treasure Chest

  • Monday, November 16, 2015

    Jim Michalak's Newsletter
    We are big fans of Jim Michalak's designs and like to let you know when there is a new issue of his newsletter.

    Monday, November 16, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 13, 2015

    Getting Ready for Duck Season
    It took me a while to get ready for this duck season. About forty years if memory serves.

    Thursday, November 12, 2015

    Building 60 Grit - Part Two
    A large mistake I made a few years later was to start building my *ultimate* boat.

    Wednesday, November 11, 2015

    Building 60 Grit - Part One
    My *ultimate goal* was a 20 to 25 foot shoal-draft coastal cruising boat, such as Karl Stambaugh's Mist, at 20 feet, or Reuel Parker's Terrapin 25.

    Tuesday, November 10, 2015

    How I Got Into Boatbuilding
    I couldn’t avoid it, it was passed on in my blood, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

    Monday, November 9, 2015

  • November Letters

  • Monday, November 9, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, November 6, 2015

    Michalak Weevee Build
    My wife and kids go to the family cabin in Tahoe every year for about 6 weeks – all of July and half of August.

    Thursday, November 5, 2015

    Southwinds Magazine, Ghosts, Boys and Dogs
    Steve Brookman is going to live here in a couple of years when he retires.

    Wednesday, November 4, 2015

    Designer's Sketchbook: Tule
    The sailing scow Tule is a 20-year old preliminary drawing from my sketchbook.

    Tuesday, November 3, 2015

    Bamboo as Mast and Spars
    After going through all the work of building my sharpie, the last thing I was in the mood for was building the mast and spars.

    Monday, November 2, 2015

    The Last Day of Summer?
    We ran the entire perimeter of Priest Lake. Not only that.

    Monday, November 2, 2015

    Monday Blog Roundup
    Read all the boat building blogs from the past week.

    Friday, October 30, 2015

    Three New Scows
    14 foot simple camper sailboat for two, designed for protected or inlands waters.



       boat plans
       canoe/kayak
       electrical
       epoxy/supplies
       fasteners
       gear
       gift certificates
       hardware
       hatches/deckplates
       media
       paint/varnish
       rope/line
       rowing/sculling
       sailmaking
       sails
       tools